Annual Leaders
All-Time Greats
All-Star Game
Hall of Fame

Team Websites
Negro Leagues
Contact Us
About Us


Roberto Clemente Award

Since 1972, Major League Baseball annually has presented an award (originally known as The Commissioner's Award) which recognizes the player who best exemplifies the game of baseball, sportsmanship, community involvement and the individual's contribution to his team.

In 1973, following the tragic death of Roberto Clemente, the award was re-named to honor the man whose spirit and goodwill always will be remembered. The award, sponsored by John Hancock Financial Services, recognizes those individuals who truly understand the value of helping others.

A panel of baseball dignitaries, including Vera Clemente and Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig, annually selects a winner from a list of 30 nominees, one from each Major League Baseball club. Past winners include Al Leiter, Tony Gwynn, Sammy Sosa, Willie Mays, Lou Brock, Ozzie Smith, Cal Ripken, Jr. and Kirby Puckett.

John Hancock, a company which has long recognized its obligation to the community, is a proud sponsor of Major League Baseball and the Roberto Clemente Award.

Past recipients

2002 Jim Thome
2001 Curt Schilling
2000 Al Leiter
1999 Tony Gwynn
1998 Sammy Sosa
1997 Eric Davis
1996 Kirby Puckett
1995 Ozzie Smith
1994 Dave Winfield
1993 Barry Larkin
1992 Cal Ripken, Jr.
1991 Harold Reynolds
1990 Dave Stewart
1989 Gary Carter
1988 Dale Murphy
1987 Rick Sutcliffe
1986 Garry Maddox
1985 Don Baylor
1984 Ron Guidry
1983 Cecil Cooper
1982 Ken Singleton
1981 Steve Garvey
1980 Phil Niekro
1979 Andre Thornton
1978 Greg Luzinski
1977 Rod Carew
1976 Pete Rose
1975 Lou Brock
1974 Willie Stargell
1973 Al Kaline
1972 Brooks Robinson
1971 Willie Mays


Copyright 2000 The Quick and the is a trademark of QATD Internet Ventures, Inc.